14th July

The local bee inspector came this week to look at some hives and she looked at mine. The nuc is good, some varroa but nothing to worry about. This was interesting as I wasn’t aware of some of the symptoms of varroa – deformed wings and runty bees are both signs which is interesting. I suppose its logical really, the varroa is a mite that sucks blood and transmits disease so their victims would be in worse health than non varroa bees.

Downside of the nuc was that the previous owner had cut a hole in the back, which could be used as an entrance point. We blocked it up with some pipe insulation foam but it’s not ideal. Not entirely sure how best to proceed with this, obviously everyone will do it differently but I wish there was a simple way that you could deviate from later. Honestly this stressed me out so much I got a bit weepy, that and the hive still needs work and I just don’t have the time! Bah.

I’ve put a super on the hive, and could probably do with putting some blank foundation frames in there. There’s no sign of a Queen so will have to look at that next week too, bah. I’ll likely have to put in a test frame if there isn’t any sign of a queen to see if they make a queen. I’m sure it’ll all work out but I feel stressed about it. Take a step back girl, worse happens they die and you collect a Swarm next year.

Notes from the talk;

If it looks like an acorn cup it’s a play cup. It it’s straight and fresher it’s likely a Swarm cup

Don’t put blank foundation in the middle of the hive – splits the brood so the queen can’t get to the other side and they think there’s no queen

 

After I followed Jamie home and got a tour. He made up my frames and supplied a couple of supers which now need cleaning. Bah. I need to sort my life out

 

 

 

 

Castellations needed for super

Can use frames for about 3 years – can date them

 

 

Leave a comment